Recipe: Kefir & Berries

Keifer + Berries Snack

Keifer + Berries Snack

Keifer + Berries Snack

Considering I have an insatiable sweet tooth and a thing for fried foods, I try to incorporate fresh and healthy options into my diet to try and balance things out a bit. This means adding things like spinach or kale into my smoothies or having fresh fruit on the side with my dessert. Since I know that craving sweets after each meal will be inevitable for me, breakfast and snacks are where it’s easier to forgo the unhealthy cravings (note: this only really applies when I eat breakfast at home, otherwise fast food, croissants, etc. are a likely story). After a good friend’s family introduced me to kefir a couple of years ago, I realized how well it goes with so many things that I already love. It has sort of a liquidy yogurt texture, think those weird (awesome?) Go-Gurt packs but a little thicker. You can drink it straight, put it in smoothies, mix it with cereal, eat it with fruit + granola, the list goes on.

In need of an energy-boosting snack, I recently mixed up some strawberry kefir with a sliced up peach, a handful of blueberries, and a few spoons of granola. Coupled with bunch of water, this gave me a little boost to tackle the good ‘ol afternoon slump. I’ve had practically this same variation for breakfast too, and it’s great. You can even sub your favorite cereal for the granola! Although kefir is a dairy product and too much dairy isn’t great (esp. for your skin), it’s good in moderation and is a probiotic, which is really beneficial. And bonus: this recipe is 100% customizable. Definitely give it a try next time you’re at the store…I get mine from Trader Joe’s and they have pomegranate, strawberry, plain, and more!

Kefir & Berries
Makes one serving

Ingredients

– 1/2 cup kefir (I used strawberry)
– handful of blueberries (or any other fruit)
– 1 peach (or any other fruit)
– 2 tablespoons granola

Directions

Cut up peach (or similar fruit) into bite sized pieces. Add, along with berries, to bowl of kefir. Top with granola and serve immediately to prevent the granola from going soggy.

Photos by Monica Dutia for Cake & Lilies

7 thoughts on “Recipe: Kefir & Berries

  1. Beautiful photos! I eat this pretty much daily for breakfast, only I am excessive and add every fruit I can get my hands on. Banana, pineapple, strawberries, pears, diced up clementine, cherries cut off the pit, you name it. Also, lately, to cut down on the processed sugar a bit, I use plain kefir and add my own honey (and vanilla extract) to sweeten it. Also sometimes golden raisins and extra roasted nuts. And, personally, I think using especially crunchy granola with toasted coconut is best. I love this meal!

Leave a Reply

