Marterella Winery

Marterella Winery

Marterella Winery

Marterella Winery

Marterella Winery

Marterella Winery

Marterella Winery

Marterella Winery

Marterella Winery

Marterella Winery

This weekend was just great. Perfect weather, sunshine, friends, wine, McDonalds (yep), and a little too much fun one night. As much as I value my “me” time, sometimes it’s nice to pack in some really fun things and feel a little tired/busy yet completely satisfied.

Part of what made this weekend so great was my first trip to a winery! I’d been to Napa when I was very underage and it was great to actually taste the wine and experience the whole thing. One of my roommates and I + our boyfriends went to the Marterella Winery out in Warrenton, VA (about an hour from DC). Let me tell you: I love Washington, but it was so nice to get out of the city for a few hours. The rural backdrop reminded me of upstate NY (coupled with the dry/brown grasses of TX) and we were all pretty happy to be sipping wine in the “country.”

I’m no expert on wine and/or wineries, but we had a pretty good time. Marterella has a very homey, family feel to it; literally, you feel like you’re in the large dining room of someone’s home. There’s also a lovely little patio that has a wood pizza oven, which I thought was great until you realize the pizzas are most likely the frozen ones from the grocery store. We had a Living Social deal that let us get a meat, 2 cheeses, and crackers with our wine flights. It was pretty great nibbling on cheese and having someone come by your table every few minutes to serve you some more sips of yummy wine.

While the wine was great, my favorite little touch were the two sweet dogs that roamed around. One was a Yorkie (soft spot in my heart) and I think the other was a shih tzu. They were the cutest, sweetest little nuggets…so great that the place is dog friendly! Leaving there with some leftover cheese, a bottle of wine, two glasses, and some pretty pictures made it such a great Saturday. Mental note to try and get out of the city more often!

Have you ever been to a winery? Anyone know of other ones worth checking out in the DC/Maryland/Virginia area?

Photos by Monica Dutia

2 thoughts on “Marterella Winery

  1. Lovely pics and I have to agree about leaving the city! Except now that I’ve actually moved away from the city I miss it so much! I’m not a wine drinker but almost wish I were so I could tour wineries!

Leave a Reply

