Golden Globes 2014

Golden Globes 2014 | Cake & Lilies

Here’s my little recap/thoughts on Golden Globes fashion from last night. As you probably know by now, I prefer simple and classic to flashy and trendy. But awards shows are the perfect time to wear something a little more over the top and statement-worthy, so I tried to keep that in mind when initially reacting to people’s outfit choices. Also, since everyone loves to find fault with and criticize many outfits at these shows, I’m just going to not do that and instead feature some of my favorites. Curious to know what you think!

Nancy O’Dell: While I’m not a huge fan of her earrings, I love the details on O’Dell’s pretty blue dress. I say ditch the long earrings and chunky ring, but the color is just lovely.

Lupita Nyong’o: She’s definitely making every best dressed list– it’s official, Nyong’o does a red cape dress better than anyone. Not to mention she’s incredibly beautiful and could probably pull off anything. Glad she went with simple and classy, especially in red!

Amy Poehler: I’m not usually one for cutouts, but it just works here. Maybe it’s because the dress is black and conservative in other ways, but the little cutout is just the right amount of sexy without the skanky. Also, it’s worth noting that the dress she changed into later during the show was equally classy and gorgeous.

Golden Globes 2014 2| Cake & LiliesSofia Vergara: I love her. She’s hilarious and pulls off this abundance of fabric so well. Also, I’m always preferential to black dresses and love statement necklaces so brava, Sofia.

Kate Beckinsale: Honestly, this dress is a little more over the top than I personally would prefer, but Beckinsale is always a vision in whatever she wears and this dress is no exception. It’s a statement without being too much and just overall incredibly flattering on her. In my opinion, it’s the perfect way to be glitzy at an awards show without being tacky.

Tatiana Maslany: love this dress so much. The color, the casual/loose-esque dressy on top, and the delicate beading is just so perfect and it’s way at the top of my list of favorites.

Margot Robbie: No brainer that she looks exquisite and this dress suits her so well. I haven’t seen The Wolf of Wall Street and couldn’t figure out why she looked so familiar…turns out she was on Pan Am! I was one of the few people who actually watched that show, so I’m happy Robbie is having her moment!

Golden Globes 2014 | Cake & Lilies

Other than the fact that these three ladies share very similar names, they had dresses that intrigued me last night. I can’t commit to saying that they’re my most favorite, but I definitely thought they made a great statement and caught my attention.

Julie Bowen: If you’re doing colors, do it this way. The sleeves complement the waist so nicely and the colors just work so well together.

Julianna Margulies: The tree-esque print threw me off a little, but the silhouette of this dress is what won me over. I just really love the cap sleeves!

Julia Roberts: Kind of an odd look, but Roberts knows she can do whatever she wants. I don’t hate it, though, and she pulls it off quite nicely. Whatever she does, I’ll always love her for it because I think she’s kind of perfect. She was the first actress I ever called “my favorite” when I was little, which is kind of a big deal,  of course.

Tina & Amy

Also, Amy Poehler and Tiny Fey just really killed it last night. Their outfits (both the dresses they started with and the one’s they changed into) were spot on and their humor never disappoints. What were your opinions on the show? I like awards shows but usually don’t watch them super intensely…this year, I kind of paid more attention and was happy about that. Any favorite outfits or ones that made you cringe?

Images via POPSUGAR and People.com

2 thoughts on “Golden Globes 2014

Leave a Reply

