Recipe: Spinach and Mushroom Crustless Quiche

IMG_0398

Amid the disgusting and slightly shameful abundance of sugar I’ve been consuming lately, I’ve been trying to incorporate some yummy savory recipes into my diet. My roomies and I hosted a small girly brunch/white elephant gift exchange on Sunday and I made one of my go-to recipes: quiche. My mom has this incredible quiche recipe cut from a newspaper years ago and I’m finally going to copy it down when I’m home in a couple of weeks (and will share it here, too). In the meantime, I went with a even simpler spinach and mushroom crustless quiche recipe adapted from this recipe. Quiche is one of those dishes that always seems fancier and more intimidating than it really is — truth is, you can probably make some sort of quiche with the ingredients you currently have at home. A binding agent (such as Bisquick), veggies, cheese, and eggs and you’re good to go. Put them in muffin tins for a cute bite-sized apps, or pour the batter into a pie tin for larger servings!

Spinach and Mushroom Crustless Quiche 

Makes about 18 mini quiches
Adapted from Food.com

Ingredients:

– 1/2 small chopped onion, sauteed

– 2 cups spinach, sauteed

– 1 cup mushrooms, chopped and sauteed

– 4 eggs

– 2 cups milk

– 1/2 cup Bisquick

– 1/8 teaspoon pepper

– 1 1/2 cups shredded cheese (I used a cheddar blend)

– pinch of salt

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease muffin tin or 8×10 oven-safe baking pan.

In a large bowl, beat eggs and milk until well-blended. Add sauteed vegetables and cheese. Stir. Pour into muffin tins.

Bake until fork inserted in muffins comes out clean, about 20-25 minutes (recipe says 40-50 minutes for a pie pan). Let sit for at least 10 minutes before serving.

IMG_0386

IMG_0381

Leave a Reply

