Best Moisturizers

Best Moisturizers Last month, I did a post on necessary lip care for the winter months. Given that there’s a slight chance of snow in DC today (!!), here this is an equally important post on how to keep your hands, feet, body, whatever, from getting completely dried out this winter. My skin is very susceptible to cracking and gets uncomfortably dry when the temperatures drop, so I’m particularly OCD about applying lotion immediately after a shower, before going to bed, and on my hands couple of times throughout the day. It only seemed fitting to round up some of my favorites that will hopefully help you stay moisturized this winter. Please feel free to list some that you recommend that aren’t already on this list…I’m always looking to add to my collection!

Burt’s Bees Beeswax Hand Creme: One of my roommates got me this for my birthday and being a longtime Burt’s Bees fan, I was immediately sold. I love the subtle beeswax scent and the creme itself is on the heavier side, which convinces me that it’s working. I put it on before bed (alternating nights with Aquaphor).

Vaseline Total Moisture Cocoa Lotion: This is what I currently have at my bedside. I initially bought it because it was on sale and the Nivea [mentioned below] was not (post-grad problems), but have come to like it more than I expected. It has a nice, subtle cocoa-ey scent, plus cocoa butter is supposed to be particularly good for your skin, right? Biggest downside is that it seems to lose its effect faster than the Nivea, so my vote would go to the Smooth Sensation if I had to pick one over the other.

Nivea Smooth Sensation Body Lotion: I started buying this about 6 years ago and it’s been in my rotation of large bedside lotion bottles. I like how it stays on for longer without feeling sticky and has a slightly thicker, more buttery consistency than some of the others (like the Vaseline Cocoa Butter). Definitely worth a try, since Nivea products are so well-made and hardly ever disappoint.

Aveeno Daily Moisturizing Lotion: I first used this because so many of my friends had a giant bottle of it in their dorm rooms/apartments at school. Now, it’s the little bottle I carry around in my purse. It’s a little greasier to the touch than the Nivea, if that kind of thing bothers you. Aveeno, Nivea and Vaseline all consistently create great products, making it hard to give strong preference to one over the other. But if you’re looking for a travel-sized lotion, I say go with this one because it comes in a solid bottle, not a tube, meaning it won’t leak all over the lining of your purse, bag, etc.

Aromatherapy Body Cream: My cousin is a serious Bath and Body Works shopper, so I’ve collected a pretty sizable collection of products from her over the years. One of them is a lavender “sleep” hand cream, which is the perfect sleepytime lavender scent to make you feel a little luxurious and pampered. I can’t find the exact one online but this lavender vanilla one seems very similar!

Ponds Cold Cream: I’ve had some Ponds long as I can remember…I always got a new bottle or two when I was in India and when I was really young, didn’t even think it existed in America. It’s apparently marketed as a makeup remover/facial cleanser, which I’ve never tried, but I can vouch for it being a really great hand and cuticle cream.

Clinique Dramatically Different Moisturizer: This is so many people’s go-to moisturizer that I had to include it even though it doesn’t work as well for me as it does for others. To be honest, it just didn’t do too much for my skin (which is very finicky), but Clinique makeup is phenomenal in general, so there’s as good chance the moisturizer will agree with you.

Dr. Jart+ Ceramidin Cream: I have terrible, temperamental skin that seems to hate every kind of facial product on the market. That’s why signing up for Birchbox has been such a blessing…it’s the perfect way to sample all the things I normally wouldn’t discover or purchase on my own. This cream was in my box a few months ago and is the first moisturizer that has worked on my face by eliminating the dryness and peeling and serving as a primer at the same time. If you have sensitive skin that usually doesn’t agree with any products, this one is definitely worth a try!

Leave a Reply

