Recipe: Easy Tofu Masala

Tofu Masala

Chicken tikka masala is one of my most favorite meals and is my go-to at Indian restaurants. I actually strongly disliked Indian food growing up (as in, it was a huge production for my parents to get me to eat it twice a week) but luckily my taste buds had a change of heart as I grew up. So you can only imagine how excited I was to find a jar of masala sauce last year at World Market— I promptly made my own chicken tikka masala with rice. More recently, I found a similar jar of masala sauce at Trader Joe’s a couple of weeks ago and knew I had to try it out. It’s a little more liquidy than the other version I bought, but it’s a good way to temporarily satisfy an Indian food craving. I mixed it in with chickpeas, cooked spinach and sautéed onions last week and made some Basmati rice on the side. Last night, I used the remainder to make “tofu masala,” which is such an easy protein fix for a weeknight meal. It took a total of 15 minutes and was pretty good, but was a bit bland (and unfortunately watery, due to the tofu). That’s coming from someone who can’t handle spicy food one bit, so add in some spices if you have some on hand. Still, it’s worth keeping a jar of this masala sauce from Trader Joe’s in your kitchen cabinet in case you have a spur of the moment craving!

Tofu Masala


Makes about 4 servings

Ingredients:

– half jar Trader Joe’s Masala Simmer Sauce

– 1/4 onion

– 4 large handfuls of uncooked spinach (or desired amount)

– 1 12oz package tofu (firm or extra firm)

– 1 cup cooked rice

Directions:

Sauté onion and spinach, until spinach is condense and onions are clear. At the same time, cube tofu and add to new pan with masala sauce and cook according to directions on jar. Add cooked onion and spinach to tofu and masala mixture. Serve over rice and with naan, if you have it– I had samosas from the frozen section at Whole Foods.

One thought on “Recipe: Easy Tofu Masala

Leave a Reply

