Cozy Homes

Screen shot 2013-09-24 at 8.25.10 PM(image)

I was going to do a post with a series of rooms that I saw on Houzz, but then I had to just stop and focus on this one. It’s nearly perfect to me. I love the mix of neutral (bed, lamp) and traditional (rug, wood) and the three ottoman-like pieces at the foot of the bed. It might be because they somewhat resemble Indian furniture, but I think they’re a beautiful addition to the room.

When it comes to hard wood floors, I’m always a little bit conflicted. The house I grew up in is almost entirely carpeted, yet so many homes I’ve visited in the past few years have had beautiful hard wood floors. I think part of why I love the room above is because of what looks like a combination of floor, carpet, and rug– really, the best of all worlds. Plus, the traditional + neutral combination is excellent. This image will surely be saved as part of my inspiration for a master bedroom when I have my own place.

What are your favorite, go-to characteristics for a room? Do you tend to stay away from some things in particular?

 

2 thoughts on “Cozy Homes

Leave a Reply

