Muji

MujiMuji Europe

(colored pencils) // (Paris pen holder) // (pencil case) // (highlighters) // (fabric box) // (notebook)

MujiUSMuji U.S.

(gel pens) // (shredder) // (sketchbook) // (pencil) // (cat notes)

I’m one of those people who can never have enough stationery, pens, organizational materials, etc. If you’ve ever heard of Muji, you can imagine how over the moon I was to stumble into one of their stores while visiting Paris a few years back. Though I only came away with a small pencil case that time around, I knew that I had to make it a point to find a store in the U.S. It wasn’t until a trip to NYC this past March where I saw someone carrying a Muji bag. I couldn’t recall the name “Muji” but knew I recognized the trademark logo with Japanese writing as “the place with the amazing stationery things.” Thank goodness we came across the store a couple of blocks later, and I was able to get my fill of the cute, unique, and modestly priced items that filled the shelves.

After perusing the store for quite some time, I settled for a couple more boxes (they’re so plain and simple and I really can’t get enough of them) and “built” (designed?) my boyfriend a pen. I also picked up a memo pad to go along with it. He loved them and almost immediately went online to see if there was a way to get more of the pens. What’s cool is that you can pick the body of the pen and then choose your own ink color…so it feels like you’re really customizing it. Everything they have is just so lovely… I mean, a pencil holder shaped like the Paris skyline?! What?! And who ever thought of a handheld paper shredder? They have such a variety, yet narrowed down selection of things that I find myself thinking of ways to incorporate various items into my life.

What’s a little odd is that some of the things I’ve bought are actually only available for sale on the European version of the site. Not sure what that’s about, but regardless, there is plenty to peruse on the U.S. version. If you’re lucky enough to live by or visit SoHo soon, definitely stop by and check out the store. There are also a few more locations scattered around NYC. I’d be curious to hear how their clothing and fragrances are, so if anyone knows, please do share!

Leave a Reply

