Friday Things

Reading by the pool 2

(image)

I hope everyone had a great Fourth of July! Isn’t it really one of the best holidays of the year? This week is throwing me off, but in a good way… yesterday felt like a Saturday but today is actually Friday? That’s pretty wonderful. A shortened work week left room for fun activities and extra sleep, which is a great way to go into the weekend.

Things of note:

– We may have finally found a couch for our apartment! This doesn’t sound like a big deal until you know that the four of us currently have a two seater couch (three if you really squeeze) and two dinky barstools from Ikea that may collapse at any given moment. One of my roommates also purchased one of these, which is quite large but comfy and fun to play with. We’re still working on figuring out the optimal way to use it.

– I’m so excited to go back to Mi Cocina tonight. It’s my favorite restaurant of all time (it started in Dallas) and I was over the moon when I found out that one was opening in Chevy Chase just before I moved to D.C.

– Having a BBQ means some kind of leftovers, and ours came in the form of a few burger patties (this is what happens when you have options including veggie burgers, burgers, chicken sausage, and hotdogs…). I’m about to attempt to make a burger inside without a grill, something I’ve never done before. I stopped eating beef for a few years, between about ages 14-18. Even though I love burgers and eat them fairly regularly, cooking them isn’t something I ever do. Fingers crossed this turns out okay. If only they could look like this, or this, or this.

– Like many weekends, some of tomorrow will be spent reading on by the pool on the roof and enjoying the hopefully nice (read: hot) weather that’s supposed to happen. A friend is in town for the long weekend, so we’re hoping to have a quiet girls afternoon in the sun. I just got this hat on a major sale so will probably break that out!

Have a great rest of the weekend!!

Leave a Reply

