Recipe: Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

Pineapple upside-down cake has always been a favorite in my family. My mom made it a lot when I was growing up, and my dad and I grew to request it frequently. Oddly enough, we’d never made it from scratch, but rather used boxed yellow cake mix, canned pineapple rings, and jarred cherries. While I personally am a huge fan of boxed cake mix (weird, I know), it seemed obvious that my parents be treated to an entirely homemade pineapple upside-down cake. So a few days ago, I gave it a go. I used a Paula Dean recipe, meaning it was loaded with butter and everything else heart-attack inducing.

I liked this recipe because it still used the canned pineapple rings and cherries out of a bottle, but still tasted like it was made entirely from scratch. While I opted not to make the glaze that’s included with the recipe, the cake still turned out soft and moist (plus had significantly less sugar). Next time, I’m going to try dicing up some pieces of pineapple and baking it into the cake. I think that would really help take this scrumptious dessert to the next level!

IMG_1648

IMG_1651

One thought on “Recipe: Pineapple Upside-Down Cake

Leave a Reply

