Bankok Joe’s

As someone who loves dumplings, I was very eager to try out a restaurant in Georgetown that I’d driven by several times. It’s called Bankok Joe’s and is located practically on the waterfront, making the location ideal. My boyfriend and I happened to be around there on a Sunday afternoon and decided to have a very, very early dinner. The coolest part of this restaurant is that it’s known as a dumpling bar. I therefore made sure that we tried as many variations of the dumpling as possible.

To start, we ordered the assortment of dumplings. This included (2 of each): shrimp dumplings, pork’n crab shu mai, chicken potstickers, mushroom’n ginger dumplings, and winter squash potstickers. I’m not exaggerating when I say that every single one of these was phenomenal. My personal favorite was the winter squash potsticker, while my boyfriend’s was the mushroom’n ginger dumpling. If I make it back there, I’ll probably order this dumpling platter as a main course.

For the main course, I got a lunch special called Mee Noodles. It consisted of vermicelli noodles, bean sprouts, ground chicken, scallions, fried wontons.

It was good, but I wish there had been a little more sauce in it. It didn’t help when I saw my boyfriend’s dish- General Tso’s Chicken. I got major food jealousy.

I guess this is what an ordinary dish looks like at a nice restaurant. It was delicious and just a little spicy. He also got the restaurant’s famous fresh ginger-lemon iced tea, which was great if you like ginger and probably pretty gross if you don’t like ginger. The place definitely lived up to my expectations as a dumpling bar and as I said, that’s probably what I’ll stick with if I go back.

Leave a Reply

